Fixing A Foundered Pony / Suggestions ?

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by vthorseshoe, Feb 21, 2012.

1. Offline

vthorseshoe Active Member

I picked up a new customer (yes doing drafts I occassionally do ponies also along with the normal horse)
    This pony was foundered 5 years ago and x-rays were taken then.
    What I came to was 1 pony, 1 dwarf pony, 1 miniature donkey, a pinto rocky mtn horse and a nice quarter horse.
    Each of these animals were trimmed by the same farrier. A self taught person who never cleans the souls and leaves long toes on some and on the ponies the heels were never cut back. The pony was trimmed with high heels and it looks like the sole was never touched ever at all. The pony was walking like a person with a corn cob up its butt. Stiff legged, hump in center of back and camped under. I trimmed the pony (after having new x-rays taken) The coffin bone has rotated but in 5 years there isn't hardly any change from the origional x-rays taken back then. I trimmed back the heels and made size "o" heart bars and glued them on.. The pony walked off like a dream, the hump disapeared in 1 day the camped under has never returned. The owners can't afford the cost or glue so we tried nailing on the shoe's. The ponies walls are too thin even for 4 1/2 nails. Sore from the get go so off came the shoe's. I bought the new roll on casting and put the shoe's on with the casting and it worked, but the shoe's moved ever so slightly and everything came loose then we have had constant rain daily and the whole shebang came off. Even after I tried to get them to keep the casting dry with shower curtain wrapped homemade boots. (no pony boots this small) Keep inside at night and then put coverings on the fronts.
    Finally we have just let the pony go bare foot. She has grown some wall and seems to be moving fairly well, but the ground is soft and I do worry about her sole getting to water logged and soft