I may have to find a new career

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by Draftshoer, Dec 16, 2012.

1. Offline

Draftshoer Active Member

I have been shoeing for a little over ten years now and have been doing good. Over the last two years I have lost a ton of clients (maybe half) for various reasons, mostly because of people getting out of horses all together. I have had a few switch to someone who works cheaper than I do but they were a small part of what I have lost. In addition to losing clients there has not been many new ones to take there place. I am not able to make ends meet at this time shoeing horses and I am at my wits end. I don't know anything else I could do to attract more business. I don't want to quit doing what i love doing especially when I think of all the time and effort I have put into this. It is very depressing to lose my trade to something I have no control over. This is what I'm faced with right now. Do I keep up the way I am and hope things get better or do i just walk away look for another way to make a living. I am having a really hard time with this so any thoughts or ideas or comments will be much obliged
  2. Offline

Cody Gilreath Member

It depends on too many things to give a clear answer. Like how do you run your business, what kind of clientele do you have, do you show up on time, keep appointments, treats people kindly, keep horses sound, etc.

1.)Horses. What kinds of horses do you work on?
    2.)Location. Do you live in a good location? Some areas just are not good, like mine.
    3.)Clients. What do they place value in?
    For instance clients where I live want sound horses and keep shoes on but they have no idea what a good job is so price and how you treat them and their horses is what they are concerned with.
    4.)Specialize. If willing you might be better specializing in a certain discipline and moving outside of a bigger city.