Laminitis Need advice for a foundered case in India (no farriers available)

Discussion in 'Farrier Advice For Horses With Lameness Issues' started by Art Vandelay, Aug 2, 2014.

1. Offline

Art Vandelay New Member

Hi all, I am a dressage / Three Day Event rider and just returned to India after 18 years studying/competing in the US. (4 year Equine Science Degree) However, there are no certified farriers here, in short...they need supervision in trimming and putting regular shoes on correctly. I have a new client here in Bombay that has a horse (Bolt) which developed laminitis after a bout with fever, and has subsequently foundered. I am attaching the x-rays of him that we took at each stage. I'm literally on my own here with this , and though I have several years of experience observing good farriers do countless therapeutic shoeings, (accompanied tons of horses to Rood and Riddle Podiatry Center as well) I have never been left to do it all myself...so I appreciate all the advice you folks might give me.

He was immediately taken of all grain, and is only on a vitamin/mineral/protein supplement. He also has a muzzle and is allowed to eat his hay before feed time.
    We initially taped some soft foam padding under the frog, until we could source some high density strofoam.
    We applied the Styrofoam pads (as shown in below video) for a few weeks until the EDSS Steward Clogs arrived.
    STYROFOAM PAD VIDEO: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DzUeYjYe5yE
    The EDSS Steward Clog was ordered and I put it on with screws and glue. The exact process I followed is shown in the video below:
    STEWARD CLOG VIDEO: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CYS0fERpCXA&list=UUMOxK0M3dLb00bSQ_IN999Q
    The Clogs helped and he seemed a lot more comfortable...especially in the small sand paddock.