Shop Time

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by Jeff Crane, Mar 7, 2012.

1. Offline

Jeff Crane Member

I have been shoeing for 22 years now. A lot of that time was spent cold shoeing and coming home, leaving day behind. I feel like I have become a "born again horseshoer". In the last several years I have been shoeing hot and making shoes. I passed the AFA CJF on my second try in 2009. When I would work in the shop I was watching the clock to see how fast and how many pairs of shoes I could make. The only thing I accomplished is making the same mistakes in record time. I now regard shop time as my time. There is no clock. Yesterday I spent four hours in the shop and I made three shoes. I am spending lot of time working on hammer blows and techinques. I am trying to get more from my hammer rather than my rasp or grinder. I am making everyday shoes to put on the truck. My goal is eventually to do nice work effiiciently and to do some competing this summer.
    I would like to know how everyone else's shop time used. Do you spend a lot of time on one shoe(s) to get it just right or do you time yourself? I can imagine the answer is both, but how do you spend the majority of you shop time? How many days or hours a week do you work in the shop?
    Thanks
  2. Offline

Eric Russell Active Member

Jeff -

Last week I spent figuring out the Madison specimens. This week I'm just trying to make nice shoes that match the specimens. Next week I'll start making both specimens at the same time and getting done in each heat what I expect to get done and I'll check my time to see where I'm at. The week after that I'll cut out and combine steps to to make sure I'm getting done in time. Between then and Madison I'll be working on getting done with each class in 45 mins.